Fringe player quality, Leeds stressing me out again and Wisla Krakow defeated.

It was a pretty successful betting day. I took the selections in doubles with £2 stake on each and came out with £12 profit.

I was right about West Brom and Wolves having too much quality despite fielding fringe players. I mentioned Ebanks-Blake being decent at lower level and he came up trumps with a brace. West Brom could go a long way in this competition. Roy Hodgson sets his team up to be hard to beat as he showed at Fulham and since taking the helm at West Brom. Don’t forget he took Fulham to the Europa Cup final, another knockout competition. I believe he has enough depth to see off lower league teams and I’ll be snapping them up if a similar big price is put on them in future Carling Cup matches. He might see this as a realistic competition he could win. Hey, if Birmingham can do it…

Whenever I bet on or against Leeds, I always lose. This time though was different. It was a nervy finish as well as a bad start, conceding to hapless Doncaster early on. Doncaster throughout the game always threatened to score a second but Leeds managed to nick it at the end with not much longer to spend. I also mentioned Nunez as a possible goalscorer and he got a brace. That’s four in two Carling Cup competitions now so look out for him.

I would like to say Wisla Krakow were robbed. Truth is they were deservedly beaten by an APOEL team who constantly put the Wisla defence under pressure. Truth be told, the 3-1 scoreline flatters Wisla as APOEL  could have scored more if it wren’t for some last ditch defending. It all went wrong when the Wisla keeper pounced on the ball on the line and let it slip into the net. The home side made it 2-0 and then a glimmer of hope when Wisla found a goal of their own. In the end, defending in your own box for the last ten minutes was a tactical error and APOEL found the third goal to take them through. Not long after I placed my bet, I heard Wisla have never been past this stage. They must be bottlers. Duly noted.

I love betting in play. I took Aston Villa to beat Hereford and draw no bet on Leeds. Both won in the end. Villa had a decent side out with the likes of Bent and Ireland and were playing at home. With 15 minutes left to play, I took the plunge and received my reward.

Leave a Reply

